This site is in an archived state. The content remains accessible as a public resource.

This site was developed with support from the Federal Emergency Management Agency

Central United States Earthquake Consortium

CUSEC logoThe Central U.S. Earthquake Consortium is a partnership of the federal government and the eight states most affected by earthquakes in the central United States.

Those states are: Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee.

Established in 1983 with funding support from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, CUSEC’s primary mission is, “… the reduction of deaths, injuries, property damage and economic losses resulting from earthquakes in the Central United States.”

CUSEC serves as a “coordinating hub” for the region, performing the critical role of coordinating the multi-state efforts of the central region.

Though this website contains general mitigation information that can be found elsewhere, the inclusion of maps showing the seismic risk to the Central States serves as a valuable advocacy tool in a region where public awareness about earthquakes is limited.

Click here to visit website.